Back to School with Love

Our little Chloé is heading into her 2nd year of preschool.

And while she loved last year for the first part of the year, after Christmas break, the novelty of being like her older brothers wore off, and going to preschool was a task. Actually she liked preschool, but did not like leaving me. Even gentle (and not so gentle) reminders from her brothers that she had better enjoy it now, as school only get’s harder, did not help. (when did they become so wise!?)

I was at a loss as how to let her know that, yes mommy was coming back to get her in a few short hours, and she was going to have fun. It just seemed that my constant reminder’s to her were not enough. Those big watery grey eye’s looking up at me…..

Fast forward a few months later, and I was mentioning how much Chloé does not like going to preschool to the receptionist at my dentist office. She told me how much her grand-daughter did not like going to school and how her daughter solved it by drawing a heart on each of their hands. That meant that mommy was always there with her. Well when it comes to making everyone’s life easier, I am all for it.

We tested this little experiment out for a week this summer while Chloé went to summer camp. It worked like a charm!!

At first Chloé decided that she wanted to have two hearts on her fingers, however they did not last too long. So we settled for one on each of our palms. I also drew another one on her tummy, as extra insurance. I knew that it would definitely not rub off of her tummy. The last thing I wanted was for her to realize halfway though that she had lost the heart on her hand!

We sailed through that test week with ease, as long as the hearts where in place. Do I think it will remain that easy? Well who really knows, but whatever works to show a bit of comfort, and make the chaotic “getting out the door” moments easier as we start a new school year.

Today we are heading off with a heart on her hand, leg and tummy – well covered with love!

So here’s to a good school year, back into routine…let the lunch making, bag packing and homework begin.

6 thoughts on “Back to School with Love

Leave a comment